Euphoric Eat: White Tiger

After a two-month hiatus, Euphoric Eats is once again alive and well. After starting a job in Manhattan back in late February, to moving out to Brooklyn just one week later, I unfortunately haven’t been able to devote as much time to writing as I would have liked.

However, I recently received some important advice from Pete Genovese, a very successful NJ food writer. He told me that the only way to get better at writing is to just keep at it. With that in mind, it’s time to get back in the game!

________

interior

Credit: Yelp user Brittany M.

My latest gastronomic odyssey brings us to the neighborhood of Prospect Heights, Brooklyn. Home to a seemingly infinite number of cuisines both foreign and domestic, I was faced with the enviable task of choosing where to eat for my housewarming dinner. After much deliberation, courtesy of my ever-dependable Yelp app, my parents and I chose White Tiger, a Korean restaurant and bar right on my street.

Before I discuss my dining experience, I must offer words of caution to any prospective writers: never write on an empty stomach. Looking through White Tiger’s menus and pictures right now is nothing short of torture.

Thankfully, my memory is strong enough to reflect upon my experience. After starting off with some celebratory cocktails and draft beers, we shared a few appetizers amongst the table. Splitting plates is always a great move; the more diverse tastes you can experience, the better.

Anyone who knows me understands my undying love for wings, so once I saw them on the menu, it was a done deal. These weren’t your run-of-the-mill buffalo sauce and ranch dressing wings, though. Dipped in a sweet soy glaze and topped with pickled daikon and jalapenos, my only complaint was that there wasn’t enough on the plate. Though I’m a sucker for spicy foods, these wings are mild enough for anyone, including my mom, to enjoy.

wings

WINGS! Credit: Yelp user Su K.

The appetizers didn’t stop there, either. We all shared a bucket of steamed clams, as well as a big bowl of seaweed salad. The clams were on point, and as always, we made sure to dip our bread in the broth. Power moves only.

On the other hand, I had never tried seaweed salad before, so I wasn’t expecting to like it. However, its subtle sweetness gave it a surprisingly savory taste. I would definitely order it again.

Speaking of things I would order again, the spicy pork bulgogi platter over rice was simply delicious. The meat had a rich, zesty flavor, and the sauteed scallions and onions added great supplementary flavor and texture. To top it off, the portion was fit for a king. While I do not consider myself to be royalty, my appetite certainly rivals that of Henry the VIII!

There's never a bad time to post a picture of food #whitetiger #cityeats #bulgogi

A post shared by Espogram (@thelifeofespo) on

After finishing my plate of porky perfection, I plundered the remains of my parents’ dishes. Mom got a vegetable ramen with tofu; the warm broth was perfect considering how cold of a night it was.

take2

Behold!

Dad, ever the epicurean, opted for a bowl of smoked eel over rice. We swapped a few bites of each other’s food. It was a bit chewy, but its crispy exterior gave it an outstanding taste. My first experience eating eel was a success. My first experience encountering a live eel was not, however. But I digress!

franklin

A man of simple pleasures.

After devouring nearly everything in sight, we finally waved the white flag. Thankfully the waiter didn’t offer us a dessert menu. Although I’m a big fan of dessert (who isn’t?), this meal sufficiently KO’d all of us. Maybe next time!

It’s always a welcome sight when your parents pick up the tab. Mom, Dad, now that I have a job, perhaps I can afford to pay for a meal! It won’t be at a five-star steakhouse, but I would gladly bring you two back here.

Overall, my family and I had a great experience dining at White Tiger. It’s a cozy little spot in a great neighborhood, and though it’s a little on the pricier side, the quality of the food makes it a worthy investment.

Locals, this is a spot you do not want to miss! Jerseyans and beyond, come and visit!

__________

It’s the…White Tiger!
It’s the thrill of the meal
Rising up to the challenge of your hunger
And the last hungry eater
Stalks his last plate at night
And we’re all eating at…White Tiger!

Sorry, I just couldn’t resist, but hey – A for effort, right?

Leave a Reply

